Breakfast With Alana

 

DCIM100GOPRO

Today I had breakfast with Alana from Grand Rapids, MI. I saw Alana as I was crossing a bridge on the Las Vegas strip from one side to the other.  She was sitting on the side, minding her own business, holding a sign that read homeless and hungry.  My goal for today was to have coffee and chat with a complete stranger and for some reason on my way to Starbucks when I passed Alana, something in my gut told me that she was the one.

I introduced myself and asked if she would like to have breakfast with me.  She eagerly expected and we headed off to Starbucks together. I had a green juice and a banana while she chose a lemon cake and small coffee.  We sat outside next to a nice fountain and chatted for over an hour.  Alana has been living in Las Vegas on and off for the past three years and has been homeless for the past 7 months.  Recently she has been able to get back on her feet the best that she can, but she still finds herself day in and day out struggling to make ends meet.

We chatted about everything under the sun and I really enjoyed the time we spent together. As we were talking she reached into her pocket and took out a penny and tossed it into the fountain.  I asked her if she made a wish and she said yes.  I then asked her if it was a good one and her response was OH YEAH! We then walked to a bus stop where we parted ways.  She thanked me for the morning and I thanked her for joining me and we gave each other a big ol hug.

Here are a few specific questions I asked her with her responses below:

What gets you out of bed every morning?
LIFE.  Despite how things are I keep getting up each and every morning and at least trying.  I make the most of what I have and I try every day.

What is your biggest dream?
I want to be in music, I love music.  My mom was an amazing singer, she could hit the C above the high C. Most importantly, I want to reconnect with my sister and go back home.

What are your passions?
I love traveling, photography and most importantly helping people.

What is the biggest tip of advice you would give someone?
To live your life.  Life is not guaranteed, you never know what is going to happen.  I could walk across the street today and get hit by a car.  I take each day one at a time because we can’t control what may happen next.

How do you want to be remembered by others?
I want to be remembered as a good person.  Someone who was always looking to help others.

Meet someone new today, buy a coffee for a stranger, challenge yourself and most importantly have some fun.  As Alana said, “life is not guaranteed, you never know what is going to happen.” Get out there today and GetLIVIN and along the way, take the initiative and GetGIVIN!

2 Comments »

Leave a Reply

